General Skilled Migration

The Independent Skilled Migration Visa programme is a suitable Australian migration pathway for potential applicants who:

Potential visa applicants are assessed against a migration points system. Points are allocated against an applicant’s skills, qualifications and other relevant attributes. Applicants must be able to score at least 60 points in this test.

In addition to this, visa applicants applying through Independent Skilled Migration must also have an occupation listed upon the relevant skilled occupation lists:

      • Independent applicant subclass 189 visa – Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL)
      • State or territory sponsored applicant subclass 190 visa – Combined MLTSSL and Short-term Skilled Occupation List (STSOL). The occupation must also be listed on the relevant State Government’s Migration Plan.

Potential visa applicants will first have to submit an EOI (Expression Of Interest) for their visa on the Department of Immigration and Border Protection’s SkillSelect online system and receive an invitation in order to lodge a visa application. Understanding and entering the correct information onto your EOI is crucial to the success of your application and mistakes can lead to a costly visa refusal.

The most up to date information relating to processing times for Australian GSM visa applications can be found in the following link:

Current processing times for General Skilled Migration applications

Related Pages:

Subclass 189 visa
Subclass 190 visa
Skilled Migration points assessment
SkillSelect & EOI